What is Republic Day – Do you know?

The Constitution was adopted on 26 November 1949, and came into effect on 26 January 1950 with a democratic government system, completing the
country’s transition towards becoming an independent republic.

26 January was chosen as the Republic day because it was on this day in 1930 when the Declaration of Indian Independence (Purna Swaraj) was proclaimed by the Indian National Congress.

The Indian constitution is the world’s longest constitution. Dr B. R. Ambedkar as the Chairman along with six other members spent 2 years 11 months and 18 days to draft the Indian Constitution.

At the time of commencement, the constitution had 395 articles in 22 parts and 8 schedules. The Constitution, in its current form, consists of a preamble, 25 parts containing 448 articles, 12 schedules, 5 appendices and 100 amendments, the latest of which came into force on 1 August 2015.

  • Dr. Rajendra Prasad took oath as India’s first President on 26th January
  • A 21 gun salute is fired as the President of India unfurls the
    tricolour, as a naval and military mark of honour.
  • On this day, ceremonious parades take place, which are performed as a tribute to India; its unity in diversity and rich cultural heritage.
  • The Prime Minister places a wreath at Amar Jawan Jyoti as a mark of
    respect to the thousands of soldiers of the country who had died fighting
    for the Indian Independence.
  • Republic day is chosen as the day to give away bravery awards to
    deserving candidates. The awards that are given away are Veer Chakra,
    Maha Veer Chakra, Param Veer Chakra, Kirti Chakra and Ashoka Chakra.
  • The Beating Retreat ceremony is held after officially denoting the end
    of Republic Day festivities on the evening of 29 January, the third day after the Republic Day. It is performed by the bands of the three wings of the military, the Indian Army, Indian Navy and Indian Air Force.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *